Spicy Mango Whiskey-Rita

An original recipe by ME 🙂
A part of the Nostalgic Cocktail Series
A fun twist on a classic margarita

So this drink, a whiskey margarita, was first introduced to me as a “Man-Rita” apparently because “whiskey is for men.” So if you make a margarita with whiskey, it’s gotta be called a “Man-Rita,” right? WRONG. I’m here to dismantle that sexist name.

I am a woman, and I love whiskey. Why is whiskey a “man’s drink”? I don’t get it, and I don’t agree. So I made my own version, nostalgic of course (because that’s my thing), and I am determined to change the name to something more contemporary.

Can we all start calling them Whiskey-Ritas instead? Let me know what you think of the new name in the comments.

When I make a cocktail, I like to have a nostalgic twist. When I make “normal” margaritas (margs with tequila) I usually add a splash of orange juice. But to make this a part of my nostalgic cocktail series, I decided to swap out the OJ for some Mango Sunny D, and seriously it was beyond amazing.

I wanted to make the rest of the ingredients from scratch, so I made a jalapeño simple syrup; it was amazing. It has a great amount of kick, so if you can’t handle spicy, I recommend adding in some agave simple syrup for sweetness, or you can add a little more Sunny D to balance it out. Here’s how to make it:

What you need:
-2 medium jalapeños sliced into rounds (keep the seeds)
-1 cup sugar
-1 cup water

Instructions:
-Bring water and sugar to a boil on high heat, stirring until the sugar is completely dissolved.
-Add sliced jalapeños and boil for 10 minutes.
-Removed from heat and strain liquid through a fine mesh colander. Discard jalapeños and seeds.
-Let the syrup cool to room temperature.
-Store in a lidded bottle in the fridge.

Below you will find a recipe card that you can save directly to your device! Feel free to share with a friend, because drinking is always more fun with friends. And if you end up making it, tag me on social media so I can see it + share it 🙂

All my love,
Dani, a big tid

Follow Along!

This Is Gonna Be Fun.

Make sure to subscribe so you don’t miss out on any of the good stuff–growth + successes, failure + flops, and all honest moments in between!

Leave a comment